The National Rifle Association awarded a total of $16,000 in college scholarships to attendees of the 2015 Youth Education Summit (Y.E.S.), a seven-day expense paid educational experience in Washington, DC for rising high school juniors and seniors.   
Held July 27 - August 2, Y.E.S. encourages young adults to become active and knowledgeable U.S. citizens by learning about the Constitution, Bill of Rights and the federal government. Since the program’s inception in 1996, more than $480,000 in scholarships have been awarded.
The following students received scholarships based on their display of leadership qualities and performance in debates and speeches conducted over the course of the week:




Caleb Daniels
Lee's Summit, MO




Bonita Wyatt
Clover, SC




Elijah Sheffield
Harrison, AR





Hunter Hackworth
Pax, WV





Savannah Easter
Amelia, VA





Cole Diggins
Moundville, MO





Nicholas McGrath
Hampton, MN





Marisa Laudadio
Walnut, MS




Riaz Lane
Tyner, NC


A second round of scholarships, valued at $15,000, are also available. To be considered, Y.E.S. students have nine months to create a portfolio detailing their efforts to introduce NRA programs like Women On Target, Friends of NRA and the Eddie Eagle GunSafe® Program into their communities..
Funding for Y.E.S. and the End of Week Scholarship is provided by The NRA Foundation. For more information, visit http://www.friendsofnra.org/ or contact Event Support Coordinator David Helmer at (800) 672-3888 ext. 1351 or at dhelmer@nrahq.org.

All 2015 Y.E.S. Participants


Trevar Fiscus - Juneau, AK

Katelyn Majors - Laceys Spring, AL

Elijah Sheffield - Harrison, AR

Markanna Moore - Prescott, AZ

Christopher Bortolon - Alamo, CA

Austin Nufable - Los Angeles, CA

Ruby Stith - Taft, CA

Tyler Tate - Roseville, CA

Makayla Douthit - Walden, CO

Jacquelyn O'Brien - Fairfield, CT

Madeline Carlson - Clayton, DE

Nicole Hittel - Bradenton, FL

Mason Mitchell - Marseilles, IL

Delaney Yoder - Bremen, IN

Sonora Sheldon - Holton, KS

Cody Evans - Heidrick, KY

Leland Brandon - Ponchatoula, LA

Lucas Verret - Lake Charles, LA

Delaney Hancock - Leonardtown, MD

Claire Laurenz - Wheeler, MI

Nicholas McGrath - Hampton, MN

Caleb Daniels - Lee's Summit, MO

Cole Diggins - Moundville, MO

Marisa Laudadio - Walnut, MS

Luke Comstock - Bigfork, MT

Riaz Lane - Tyner, NC

Lauren Webb - Grand Island, NE

JoAnna O'Neill - Los Alamos, NM

Natalie Fox - Las Vegas, NV

Erin Estus - Frewsburg, NY

Samuel Church - Luckey, OH

Nolan Loughry - Hudson, OH

Joelie Simmons - Sand Springs, OK

Connor Kiblinger - Redmond, OR

Benjamin Swanson - Roseburg, OR

Elias Buhl - Erie, PA

Bonita Wyatt - Clover, SC

Emily Phillips - Sweetwater, TN

Brooke Montalbano - Alvin, TX

Hayden Rash - El Paso, TX

Armond Willingham - Big Sandy, TX

Connor Morris - Santa Clara, UT

Savannah Easter - Amelia, VA

Lucas Parmley - Sheboygan, WI

Hunter Hackworth - Pax, WV

Ryan Curtis – Rock Springs, WY



Return to the Y.E.S. home page.
If you really loved your time at Y.E.S. and want to come back as an alumni chaperone we'd love to have you!  Or are you looking to give a charitable donation to the Y.E.S. endowment?  This is your destination.
Currently Alaska, North Carolina, Texas Virginia and West Virginia  sponsor a state Y.E.S. If you are from one of these states you must attend the state summit before attending the national summit. If you're interested in starting a state Y.E.S. learn more here.