The National Rifle Association awarded a total of $16,000 in college scholarships to attendees of the 2016 Youth Education Summit (Y.E.S.), a seven-day expense paid educational experience in Washington, DC for rising high school juniors and seniors.   
Held July 25 - July 31, Y.E.S. encourages young adults to become active and knowledgeable U.S. citizens by learning about the Constitution, Bill of Rights and the federal government. Since the program’s inception in 1996, more than $500,000 in scholarships have been awarded.
The following students received scholarships based on their display of leadership qualities and performance in debates and current event discussions conducted over the course of the week:



Ellen Reynolds
Ocala, FL



Ben Moody
Kuna, ID



Olivia Rogers
Gardner, KS




Serena Juchnowski
Richfield, OH




Emily Saltarelli
Montgomery, TX




Jake Wisener
Guntersville, AL




Amelia Brown
Plano, TX




Bryttani MacNamara
Sulphur, LA



Aidan Thomason
Knoxville, TN


A second round of scholarships, valued at $25,000, are also available. To be considered, Y.E.S. students have 10 months to create a portfolio detailing their efforts to introduce NRA programs like Women On Target, Friends of NRA and the Eddie Eagle GunSafe® Program into their communities..
Funding for Y.E.S. and the End of Week Scholarship is provided by The NRA Foundation. For more information, visit http://www.friendsofnra.org/ or contact Event Marketing and Communications Coordinator Abigail Klein at (703) 267-1351 or at yes@nrahq.org.

All 2016 Y.E.S. Participants


Delana Wesen - Anchorage, AK

Jake Wisener - Guntersville, AL

George Guzman - Cabot, AR

Zach Aceves - Whittier, CA

Jupinder Parmar - Elk Grove, CA

Troy Ryder - San Marcos, CA

Kayleen Bowie - Dolores, CO

Ellen Reynolds - Ocala, FL

Connor Hall - Waleska, GA

Ben Moody - Kuna, ID

Emily Brooks - Plainfield, IL

Jenna Koonce - Mulberry Grove, IL

Arianne Hammond - Auburn, IN

Olivia Rogers - Gardner, KS

Nathan Hartsell - Fulton, KY

Chloe Greene - Shreveport, LA

Bryttani MacNamara - Sulphur, LA

Clare Riley - Ocean City, MD

Alayna Knarian - Bad Axe, MI

John Callens - Marshall, MN

Abigail Stoner - Webster Groves, MO

Emily Hootsell - Natchez, MS

Robby Keiser - Glendive, MT

Aidan Hayes - Wake Forest, NC

Megan Brown - Cleveland, NC

Emma Fleming - Sentinel Butte, ND

William Lavelle - Utica, NE

Josh Hall - Tijeras, NM

Serena Lee - Las Vegas, NV

Serena Juchnowski - Richfield, OH

Elevia Bruce - Stillwater, OK

Evelyn Bizovi - Portland, OR

Alyssa Ray - Echo, OR

Tommy Brower - Kimberton, PA

Becca Pifer - Reynoldsville, PA

Hunter DeLaRoi - Mobridge, SD

Aidan Thomason - Knoxville, TN

Amelia Brown - Plano, TX

Neil Payne - Junction, TX

Emily Saltarelli - Montgomery, TX

Jacob Bosen - Morgan, UT

Sarah Day - Moab, UT

Hunter Sanderson - Farmville, VA

Dan Avila - Richland, WA

Tim Yackley - Portage, WI

Gretchen Evans - Charleston, WV

Kealy Hill – Gillette, WY



Return to the Y.E.S. home page.
Loved your time at Y.E.S.? Come back and join us as a chaperone.
Looking to make a charitable donation to the Y.E.S. endowment?
Click here for more information.

Currently Alaska, North Carolina, Texas Virginia and West Virginia  sponsor a state Y.E.S. If you are from one of these states you must attend the state summit before attending the national summit. If you're interested in starting a state Y.E.S. learn more here.